SMART PHONES THAT TURN HEADS – DOWNWARDS

ip

A few weeks back, I acquired a smartphone. (Yes, applause!) 

My chance to use “whatsapp” was finally here, a simple tap on opera mini would lead me right to my favorite websites – right in my palm!  Call me “old school” but this little gadget was beginning to excite!

 I didn’t care about traffic jam anymore – not with the red things showing my notifications. A barrage of friends started pouring in on whatsapp; one even

had the courage to welcome me to “civilization.”  This is how long I had been away from the “developed world!

 A few classmates even took it further and expressed shock on learning I was on whatsapp, I smiled and reflected still how this gadget was

indeed calling me out. The weeks that followed have been amazing! 

And now, it has quickly started dawning on me that I can no longer hide, people reach me whenever they want, office emails give me a heavy

heart at dinner time, I reflect over my newsfeed in the bathroom! Like a mother and her newborn, that’s how I monitor every notification, I muted the sound but

I still subtly look forward for the “red things”, even if it sometimes means halting a conversation, the threat is real!

My reflection and quiet time have not been endangered like this before, and so have my listening skills! 

I feel threatened, as I write this, my “thing” just blacked out (realize I have to charge it twice a day by the way- unlike my buttoned Nokia

that lasted a week) 

A few minutes ago I realized my heart was getting anxious; a relative had now gone with my charger yet I had to – you know! So I was getting

bitter, and angry, and pissed, and mad – and that’s what birthed this piece. Why would an asian assembled gadget threaten to steal the peace my lord bled for ?  

Why would a factory product want to alienate me from my relative, because they couldn’t take care of my charger? 

I now know the answer, because this ‘good thing” is threatening to become an “ultimate thing”, and believers know the name for that,

“Idolatry”.  

Apart from keeping my head turned downwards “all the time” this gadget is threatening to shatter the things I treasure most.

 When I get my charger tomorrow, I hope l will forgive my relative and remember.  

And remember Paul’s words that “I will not be mastered by anything” (1 Cor 6:12) Hope I remember to turn off the chat and talk to my neighbor who

had a bad day, hope I will remember to turn off the screen light and recite my memory verse, or greet my neighbor in the taxi, Hope I will keep office emails

away from the bedroom. I hope, I hope, I hope. 

I hope I will often unplug myself first, before I unplug from the socket.  

I hope I will own my smartphone, not the other way round. 

 

I hope my smartphone won’t turn my head downwards- only, I hope

through it I will “set my mind on the things above (Col 3:2)”. 

So help me Lord.  

Because I want to own my smartphone, not the other way round.

 

4 thoughts on “SMART PHONES THAT TURN HEADS – DOWNWARDS

  1. Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.
    Heb 12:1 NIV
    God bless you.

Leave a Reply

