IT ALL DOESN’T MAKE SENSE

 

 

Image
Image source: http://www.turnbacktogod.com
April 14, 2014 at 1:28pm

 

You’ll forgive me for sounding like Solomon, but come to think of it. It all doesn’t make sense.

I just stopped in the middle of a meal a few minutes ago, a meal of avocado, beans, and rice and remembered.

I hadn’t given thanks to God for it.

Right there, right then, I thought about how, if I continued eating, the taste of the beans or the crispy rice, or the soupy soup wasn’t going to taste that way anymore, why? Because I hadn’t recognized the source of it all (well, at least verbally) and so all the chewing thereafter wasn’t going to make sense.

As in “make sense”.  

But isn’t all of life that way? It all doesn’t make sense, eating without thanking God, the source of what you are eating doesn’t make sense. Same for swimming without water.

Yet our good lord saw it and asked “what shall it profit a man to gain the whole world and lose his soul(Mark 8:36)”, he probably saw the recent girl at office whose several relationships have still failed to fill the void of her search for God.

Why munch yellow bread and forget the “bread of life” whose rain waters all the cereal in the fields? Why worry about what to eat yet, like Jesus puts it, you can’t even add 60 minutes to your earthly life?  It all doesn’t make sense. Why marry if all I focus on is the cost of my tuxedo rather than the commitment God requires of me; to love the woman he is giving me “as Christ loved the Church (Eph 5:25).”

It all doesn’t make sense if I see my brother in need and I tell him to “go be warm (James 2:16)”. Or if I wake up daily and go through the routine and do it all over again the following day.  Why live like a mahogany tree yet scripture calls me a “flower quickly fading” (Isaiah 40:7)

Now I know why Paul spoke like that.

“If the dead are not raised, let us go eat and drink for tomorrow we will die”  (1 Cor 15:32)  

After all,it all doesn’t make sense, without a resurrected Christ.

 

Happy Easter!

 

Leave a Reply

