LIPGLOSS IN A TAXI: GIVE ME THE FLOWER

illustration by Micheal Mutyaba

Some women will go a long way to enhance their God-given beauty,sometimes in a passenger seat.

Like any other normal guy, am often stunned by the flawlessness of a woman’s beauty.

And trust me; there are times I just want to stop girls (without strings by the way) and go like

“But you, do you even have a clue of how beautiful you are?”

Lately though, am discovering that a lot of labor goes behind what I notice on sidewalks, faculty verandahs and taxis.

That’s, of course, without forgetting that “Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting “(Prov 31:30)

But that’s not my point; my point is that all this beauty I see has a source.

And it is incomplete for our hearts to keep acknowledging such physical beauty without recognizing it’s source-

God.

The one who gives ladies the urge to maintain it, even if it means doing that in a taxi.

In his 2003 volume “Desiring God” John Piper nails it well while explaining how we often settle for less in such pursuits.

“The tragedy of the world is that the echo is mistaken for the Original shout. The books, or the music (add physical beauty) in which we thought the beauty was located will betray us if we trust to them, it was not in them, it only came through them and what came through them was longing ,these things(think physical beauty)are good images of what we really desire, but if they are mistaken for the thing itself,they turn into dumb idols, breaking the hearts of their worshipers ,for they are not the thing itself,they are only a scent of a flower we have not found..”

Now, this reminds me I have been chasing scents for too long, perhaps it’s high time I started looking for where the flower is.

And I also like to think of God as the flower that brings us all this scent. This scent of (make your own list)

– God fearing

-Light skinned

-Tall

-Great smile

– Hair

And yes, Good body! (Somebody say amen!)

It would be awesome if we, ladies and gentlemen, – in our wearisome pursuit of this scent instead pursued the source of it all.

For crying out loud, if he owns the “cattle on a thousand hills” (Psalms 50:10), who says he doesn’t own these girls in a thousand homes? Or for that matter, guys in a thousand rugby teams.

As for me and my house, As for me, am settling for the source not the scent.

Give me the flower any day, the source of all this scent I see on sidewalks, church verandahs and in taxis

Give me God! Give me God!

Mind you, I am no coward, of course when my time comes, I will man up and pursue!

After all it’s about “seeking the kingdom of God first (Matthew 6:33)”

Still want to prove me wrong?

Leave a Reply

